Peiris the Lankan hope in swimming

Envisioning the Future: TTASL is ready for the next challenge with first ever female leadership

Table Tennis Association concluded its Annual General Meeting on Thursday 25th August 2022. Table Tennis clubs affiliated with Sri Lanka Table Tennis Association gathered in Colombo to elect a new committee to head the most popular racket sport in the country. Committee appointed are eager to take on challenges through their visionary plan by implementing futuristic changes to administration, training & competition, player development, education, and promotion of the sport.

Dr. Tharindra Weerakoon was elected as the president of the Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka (TTASL) at their Annual General meeting held on Thursday 25th of August 2022. This is the very first-time woman president to be elected president in its history of 76 years.

Tharindra is a former Sri Lanka National Table Tennis team player who represented the country as an international sportswoman. Alumni of Maliyadeva Girls College Kurunegala is a senior lecturer by profession. Previously she served as a Table Tennis selection committee member being responsible for the selection of players for tournaments and identifying budding talents of the country. Dr. Tharindra Weerakoon optimistic about a brighter future explained modern technological advancements should be incorporated into the developments of the association. Using social networks and IT-based interventions for promotion and networking was highlighted by her. Former national player, emphasized players should be given priority by securing professional opportunities and monetary support to continue their Table Tennis careers without tarnishing future goals.

Mr.Chandana Shrinath Wijetunga was elected as the General Secretary of the Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka ( TTASL) while Mr.Dilran Silva was elected as the Treasurer of the association.

Chandana Shrinath Wijetunga held the General Secretary position in 2019-2021 and represented TTASL at National Olympic Committee. Previously he had represented Sri Lanka in the ITTF-ASIA forum in 2021. Alumni of Kingswood college Kandy Chandana Shrinath Wijetunga is a Senior Lecturer by profession. Addressing the AGM Mr. Wijetunga stated when the world is thriving for inclusivity TTASL has set an example of promoting women into administrative positions. He was confident young and energetic committee will take rational decisions to overcome obstacles and create a path toward a resilient future. Moreover, he stresses the importance of linking generations of the Table Tennis fraternity to proceed toward the best possible solutions.

Chief Manager – Financial Services of Ceylinco General Insurance LTD, Mr. Dilran Silva is well equipped with previous experience gained by working with communities. Alumni of St. Jhones College – Nugegoda Mr. Dilran held the Assistant Treasurer position of the TTASL during 2019-2021.

The eight elected Vice Presidents for the next term are: Ms. P. Kumudu De Silva (Sri Lanka Schools TTA), Mr. Susil Ramanayake (Tibhar Sports Club), Mr. I.S.Manura Fernando(Premadasa Sports Foundation),Mr. B.M.D.G.A.D.B. Abeyrathna ( Sabaragamuwa Province TTA),Mr. Muthalib (Sabaragamuwa Province TTA), Ms. R.A.P Madurangika Rajapaksa (Josephian Sports Club),Mr A.D. Nishantha Ariyapala ( Nugegoda TTC),Ms. A.B.S. Nimeshika (Gampaha District TTA).

Mr. A.P.L. Prabath Nimesh (State Services TTA) was elected as the Assistant Secretary while Mr. H.S.D. Vibhushitha Perera (Western Province TTA) resumed duties as Assistant Treasurer of the TTASL. Elected Secretary Mr. Chandana Shrinath Wijetunga delivered the vote of thanks to the Sports ministry appointed election committee Mr. J.J Weerakkody (Chairman election committee), Mr. Gamini Jayasinghe, and Mr. Chandana Liyanage for conducting the election and processing it while the country was at unrest situation. Moreover, he urges support from the committee elected and all the clubs represented at TTASL Annual General Meeting 2022.