Peiris the Lankan hope in swimming

Press Release: NOC Sri Lanka Election for the Year 2022 - 2026

Suresh Subramaniam back at the helm of NOC SL 

Maxwell de Silva too reelected as Secretary General 

Incumbent National Olympic Committee President Suresh Subramaniam overwhelmingly retained the custody of the governance of the team for the period of 2022 to 2026 at its quadrennial elections held at the Hemasiri Fernando Auditorium today.  

As expected, Subramaniam a vice president of the Sri Lanka Tennis Association convincingly beat his rival General Palitha Fernando of the Sri Lanka Athletics at 21votes to 12votes.        

In the other major position contested, serving Secretary General Maxwell de Silva proved that the majority of the Federations had kept their faith in the governing style of the veteran who is from the Judo Federation by a margin of 13 votes. Mohan Wijesinghe representing the Badminton Association   received only 10 votes against the 23 votes received by de Silva.   

Under the wave of confidence of the Subramaniam factionthey won three of the four vice president posts. They are Ms. Niloo Jayatilake (Golf Union 20 votes), Joseph Kenny (Yachting Association 19 votes), Suranjith Premadasa  (Equestrian 19 votes) while Kanchana Jayaratne (Sri Lanka Volleyball 20 votes) from the Palitha Fernando faction.

Gamini Jayasinghe of the of the Ski and Snowboarding Association received 23 votes and was elected over Ajith Kumara Siyambalapitiya who received 10 votes       

The two positions of Assistant Secretary – Chandana Liyanage of   Sri Lanka Basketball Federation and Assistant Treasurer Shirantha Peiris of the National Shooting Sport Federation came in uncontested as Dammika Karandenigoda and Manoj Padmakumara Karunarathne were ousted by the elections commission due technical deficiencies in their applications. Both Karandenigoda and Karunaratne are members of the Archery Association and sympathizes of Palitha Fernando faction. 

The elected committee members were --    Ruwan Alahakoon (Sri Lanka Taekwondo Association 23 votes), Sarath Hewavitharana (Wrestling Federation 22 votes) and Neel Perera of the National Roller-Skating Association of Sri Lanka (22 votes). 

Press Release: NOC Sri Lanka Election for the Year 2022 - 2026